USD 69.34
EUR 84.89
RUB 1.22

India and Pakistan become members of SCO

The Republic of India and the Islamic Republic of Pakistan became full members of the Shanghai Cooperation Organization at its regular meeting in Astana.

The President of Kazakhstan, Nursultan Nazarbayev, welcomed two new members of the SCO that fulfilled all the procedural obligations. «Thus, the SCO has become a significant factor in world politics and the world economy," he said.

In his turn, Almazbek Atambayev noted that Kyrgyzstan welcomes the accession of India and Pakistan to the SCO, and said that the expansion of the organization creates new political and economic conditions.

Recall, on June 8–9, Astana hosts the meeting of the SCO, a permanent intergovernmental international organization, which previously included six states — Kyrgyzstan, Kazakhstan, China, Russia, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan. The states observers to the SCO were India, Mongolia, Pakistan and Iran.

The declaration on the establishment of SCO was signed at a meeting of the heads of six states in Shanghai on June 15, 2001.