USD 84.80
EUR 99.52
RUB 1.16

Tajikistan abolishes import duties on goods from Kyrgyzstan

Tajikistan abolished customs duties in import of goods from Russia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan and other CIS countries that signed an agreement on a free trade zone. Ozodi radio reported  with reference to the Customs Service of the Republic of Tajikistan.

According to it, the exception is the goods withdrawn from the free trade regime. President Emomali Rahmon signed a government decree.

But goods imported from these countries are not exempt from other taxes and fees, said customs broker of Istam-2015 Shakhri Sharipova.

The abolition of customs duties in import of goods from countries that have signed an agreement on a free trade zone is connected with the fact that these states import goods necessary for Tajikistan, said Tajik economist Sotim Umarov.

«At present, wheat and flour come to Tajikistan mainly from Kazakhstan. This country is also the main supplier of liquid gas to Tajikistan — it accounts for more than 70 percent of the total supply. Belarus supplies sugar, Russia — oil products. All these goods and products are vital for Tajikistan,» says the economist.

An agreement on a free trade zone was signed on October 18, 2011 in St. Petersburg following a meeting of the Council of Heads of Government of the CIS countries. It simplifies the legal framework of trade and economic relations between countries, replaces a number of multilateral and about 100 bilateral documents governing the free trade regime.

The document was signed by the heads of government of Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Tajikistan, Russia and Ukraine.

Azerbaijan and Turkmenistan did not join the treaty, Uzbekistan — according to a special procedure (a separate protocol to the treaty was signed).

The free trade zone agreement between Russia and Ukraine is not valid since January 2, 2016.