USD 89.12
EUR 95.10
RUB 0.95

Grace period for import of electric vehicles extended for Kyrgyzstan

The Council of the Eurasian Economic Commission (EEC) has extended the tariff preference in the form of exemption from customs duties for electric vehicles imported into the countries of the Eurasian Economic Union (EAEU) in limited quantities until December 31, 2025. The EEC press service reported.

Exemption from customs duties is provided only to citizens permanently residing in Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan and Kyrgyzstan. It is not permitted to transfer the rights to own, use and dispose electric vehicles to persons who have citizenship and (or) permanent residence permit in Russia.

«It is expected that the extension of the application of tariff preference in combination with other measures aimed at stimulating demand for electric vehicles, their production and the development of a network of charging stations will contribute to a wider distribution of such vehicles,» EEC Minister for Trade Andrey Slepnev said.

Previously, the Ministry of Economy and Commerce of Kyrgyzstan proposed setting the quota for the republic for the import of electric vehicles at 15,000 cars for 2024, and 20,000 cars for 2025.