USD 79.50
EUR 92.65
RUB 1.03

Civil activists voice names of political prisoners in Kyrgyzstan (list)

Committee for Protection of Rights of Political Prisoners has compiled a list of people convicted for political reasons in Kyrgyzstan. Members of the organization handed it over to 24.kg news agency.

According to the NGO, 26 people have been sentenced to various terms of imprisonment under politically motivated articles in Kyrgyzstan for 2016-2017. The list also includes:

— Toigonbek Kalmatov, former head of the State Agency for Religious Affairs under the Government;

— Bekbolot Talgarbekov, Deputy Prime Minister under Askar Akayev;

— Tolubai Kolubaev, ex-presidential candidate of the Kyrgyz Republic;

— Marat Sultanov, former chairman of the Pervomaisky District Court of Bishkek;

— Alexander Gusev, member of People’s Parliament;

— Bektur Asanov, former governor of Jalal-Abad region;

— Kubanychbek Kadyrov, former deputy of the Parliament from SDPK faction;

— Dastan Sarygulov, Secretary of State under Askar Akayev;

— Ernest Karybekov, an expert in the field of energy industry.

The list of politically convicted persons includes the leader of Ata Meken party, Omurbek Tekebayev, the former head of the Emergency Situations Ministry Duishenkul Chotonov, the former deputy of the Parliament Sadyr Japarov, the former head of the Osh Regional Department of Internal Affairs Abdylda Kaparov and the current deputy of the Parliament Kanatbek Isaev.

Civil activists also consider Sabyr Dzhaparov, Rustam Japarov, Adylbek Isaev, Anarbek Beishebekov, Shamshidin uulu Aidynbek, Ulan Usupov, Baikazy Kaziev, Zhanybai Zhenishbekov as political prisoners. They spent five months and 15 days in a detention center 1 and received suspended sentences (one year). All of them were participants of the rally on March 25, 2017 in support of Sadyr Japarov.

Erlanbek Tagaev, Abdymanap Begishov, Kalybek Japarov were also named political prisoners. Court sentenced each of them to four years in a penal colony with strengthened security regime. Chyngyzkhan Kozhogeldiev was sentenced to 8 years in prison.

The Committee for the Protection of the Rights of Political Prisoners notes that the lawyers of these convicts filed petitions for revision of criminal cases under new circumstances.