USD 88.91
EUR 94.75
RUB 0.95

Kyrgyzstan plans to attract investments in energy sector of Kyrgyzstan

Deputy Chairman of the Cabinet of Ministers of Kyrgyzstan Bakyt Torobaev took part in the 62nd meeting of the Electric Power Council of the Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS). Press service of the Cabinet reported.

Bakyt Torobaev reminded that this year Kyrgyzstan is chairing the CIS Union and one of the strategic directions under the chairmanship is the development of innovative and low-carbon energy industry.

«Kyrgyzstan has a high potential for electricity generation. A number of projects are currently being implemented. I believe that today’s event will become a platform where we can find constructive solutions that will help strengthen the partnership potential and increase cooperation in the energy industry,» the Deputy Prime Minister said.

He also noted that gigawatt-class solar and wind energy projects are currently being developed in the republic in Issyk-Kul region with attraction of investments from Russia, Kazakhstan and China.

In addition, issues of designing and launching a combined-cycle plant in Chaldovar village with a capacity of up to 500 megawatts are being worked out, taking into account the supply of equipment and gas, as well as launching pilot projects for peaceful nuclear energy and green hydrogen.

Bakyt Torobaev added that the preparatory stage of the construction of the large-scale Kambar-Ata-1 HPP is nearing completion. This is the construction of a road, a substation, a power line, tunnels, bridges and builders’ camps. In parallel, work is underway to create a joint venture with Kazakhstan and Uzbekistan.

The CIS Electric Power Council carries out joint and coordinated work in the field of electric power industry aimed at sustainable and reliable supply of electricity to the economy and population of the Commonwealth member states. Within its framework, administrative and protocol documents were considered. The meeting was attended by the Ministers of Energy of the member states of the CIS, representatives of the Eurasian Economic Commission (EEC) and heads of relevant enterprises in the energy sector of the republic.