USD 89.12
EUR 94.98
RUB 0.95

U.S. Department of State names political prisoners in Kyrgyzstan

U.S. Department of State published a report on human rights for 2018, including the leader of Ata Meken party Omurbek Tekebayev and former deputy of the Parliament Sadyr Japarov in the category «Political Prisoners and Detainees» with reference to some observers. Its annual report says.

The category also includes former prime ministers of Kyrgyzstan Sapar Isakov and Jantoro Satybaldiev.

Sapar Isakov and Jantoro Satybaldiev are charged with corruption in a criminal case on modernization of the Bishkek’s Heating and Power Plant and are held in custody in a pre-trial detention center of the State Committee for National Security.

The U.S. Department of State notes that lawyers from the Adilet Legal Clinic, representing the interests of Omurbek Tekebayev, appealed to the UN Human Rights Committee with detailed explanation of violations during Tekebayev’s arrest and trial.

Omurbek Tekebayev and Duishenkul Chotonov were found guilty of corruption and sentenced to 8 years in prison with confiscation of property.