USD 69.74
EUR 79.24
RUB 1.05

Election of President of Kyrgyzstan. 22 facts you could forget

Photo Internet. Presidential elections 2011.

Kyrgyzstan is preparing for the election of the next — the 5th — president of the country. 13 people participate in the race, although, initially, 59 applicants intended to participate in the election. But someone did not collect required signature sheets, someone failed the exam in the state language, and there are also those who dropped out of the race because of tumultuous past.

24.kg news agency decided to recall all presidential elections in the country and choose the most interesting and important facts about them.

Fatal numbers

The first president of Kyrgyzstan, Askar Akayev, was elected on October 27, 1990, to the post only just approved by the Supreme Soviet.

Askar Akayev is the only president who was reelected three times to the highest political post by elections — in 1991, 1995 and 2000.

All the presidents of Kyrgyzstan — Askar Akayev, Kurmanbek Bakiyev, Roza Otunbayeva and Almazbek Atambayev — left the post of president at the age of 61.

In 2007, the term of the presidency was changed from five to four years. It was again increased to six years at the referendum in 2010, but the incumbent president can not be re-elected.

Roza Otunbayeva became the president of the transition period through a referendum, but she also had the shortest term of leadership of the country — a year and a half.

Askar Akayev won the highest percentage of votes in the elections — 95.33 percent (in 1991). Only Kurmanbek Bakiyev approached him in 2005, winning 88.63 percent of the votes.

The presidential elections in Kyrgyzstan have always been held in one round.

The presidents of Kyrgyzstan parted with the powers in two ways so far — as a result of the revolution and the expiry of term in office. As of today, the score is 2: 2.

Appetite comes with eating

In 1995, there were six candidates for the post, but later the Supreme Court board recognized Omurbek Tekebayev, Mamat Aibalayev and Zhumgalbek Amanbaev’s registration invalid. The race continued between Askar Akayev, Absamat Masaliev and Medetkan Sherimkulov. Suspended from the race went on a hunger strike.

The Constitution of Kyrgyzstan forbade the same person to be elected president more than twice in a row. However, this did not prevent Askar Akayev from winning the 2000 election for the third time.

Until 2009, the number of people wishing to head Kyrgyzstan did not exceed six people.

A record number of candidates was nominated in 2011 — 83 people. However, only 16 were in the ballot.

The only woman in Kyrgyzstan who constantly runs for presidency is Toktaiym Umetalieva. She participated in the elections in 2005, 2009 and also in 2017.

Tursunbai Bakir uulu is also a regular participant in the plebiscite. He put forward his candidacy in 2000, 2005, 2011 and 2017. This time, he failed to collect signature sheets, and he will not be able to participate in the race.

Political prostitution

In 2000, the candidates officially started taking the state language exam. Thanks to this, Askar Akayev got rid of the main competitor in the 2000 election — Felix Kulov, who did not peak Kyrgyz well.

In October 2000, Felix Kulov’s Ar-Namys party and Omurbek Tekebayev’s Ata Meken party appeared together in the presidential elections. After announcing the results of the voting, Felix Kulov officially recognized the results of the elections and announced his intention to cooperate with Akayev. Omurbek Tekebayev severely criticized this behavior of his recent partner.

In 2005, two months before the election, Kurmanbek Bakiyev and Felix Kulov, who was considered as a strong opponent of the first, concluded a political tandem. The divorce turned out to be loud, and the general ended up in prison.

Omurbek Tekebayev twice — in 2009 and 2011 — withdrew his candidacy from the presidential race in favor of Almazbek Atambayev.

Being a presidential candidate in 2009, Almazbek Atambayev thwarted a meeting with voters. Azimbek Beknazarov then said that he was bedeviled.


Visible markings were for the first time used in the 2011 elections. Earlier voters were marked with invisible ink, which are visible only under ultraviolet light.

The method of votes counting has changed. Now the voting results are automatically read out by the ballot box.

The innovation in the current presidential election is the mandatory registration of biometric data. The Central Election Commission assures that new technologies will protect the process: the candidates will not be able to bribe voters or organize «merry-go-round voting.»