USD 84.80
EUR 102.17
RUB 1.12

CEC Deputy Chairperson refuses to sign protocol of election results

Deputy Head of the Central Election Commission Atyr Abdrakhmatova refused to sign the final protocol on the results of the presidential election in 2017.

She voiced a dissenting opinion, in which she stressed that the CEC violated the whole list of articles of the electoral legislation even at the stage of collecting signatures, and the equality of presidential candidates was violated in conducting campaigning and providing them with free airtime. Atyr Abdrakhmatova stressed that there was intimidation and pressure on the voters, there were no attempts from the CEC to resist the administrative resource.

The protocol was not also signed by Gulnara Dzhurabaeva. She did not attend the final meeting and CEC did not take into account her special opinion because she was absent.

The presidential elections were held on October 15. Sooronbai Jeenbekov won the majority of votes — 54.22 percent.