USD 87.96
EUR 95.21
RUB 0.97

Invasion of Kyrgyzstan: September 19 declared Day of Mourning

President Sadyr Japarov signed a decree declaring September 19 a Day of National Mourning in the Kyrgyz Republic. Press service of the head of state reported.

The document notes that the state flags of the Kyrgyz Republic will be flown at half mast throughout the country, as well as on the buildings of diplomatic and consular institutions abroad. Cultural institutions, TV and radio companies are recommended to cancel entertainment events and programs.

Emergency situation has been introduced in Batken region. Shooting began at several sites of the border between Kyrgyzstan and Tajikistan on the morning of September 16. Settlements in Leilek and Batken district came under fire. The Ministry of Health reported 134 victims, 36 people were killed. As a result of the armed conflict on the Kyrgyz-Tajik border, residents of seven villages in Batken and Leilek districts, as well as Dzhekendi village in Chon-Alai district of Osh region, left their homes.

Presidents Sadyr Japarov and Emomali Rahmon agreed to ceasefire on September 16. The Tajik side violated the agreements.