USD 69.74
EUR 79.24
RUB 1.05

PM resigns. Parliament supports no-confidence motion against government

The deputies of the Parliament supported a vote of no confidence in the Prime Minister of Kyrgyzstan Sapar Isakov. The decision was made today at the meeting.

Recall, the initiators of the resignation of the Cabinet were the deputies of Ata Meken, Respublika-Ata-Jurt and Onuguu-Progress factions. They recognized the report on the work of the government for 2017 unsatisfactory. They later wrote a letter to the Speaker of the Parliament Dastan Dzhumabekov about a vote of no confidence in the government of Sapar Isakov.

No-confidence motion against the Prime Minister was passed for the first time in the history of Kyrgyzstan.

According to Article 85 of the Constitution, the government in its activities is accountable to the Parliament. The Prime Minister submits an annual report to the Parliament. At the same time, the Parliament, on the initiative of one-third of the deputies, can pass a no-confidence vote in the government. The decision is made by a majority vote. At the same time, the president may not agree with the parliament’s decision at first. If deputies submit the issue to the head of state repeatedly, then he will dismiss the government.

At least 101 deputies supported resignation of the Prime Minister, 5 — were against it. In total, 112 deputies were registered today.