USD 87.99
EUR 95.37
RUB 0.97

Supreme Court upholds decision to deprive Omurbek Bakirov of his mandate

The Supreme Court of Kyrgyzstan upheld the decision that annulled the results of the elections in Kok-Dzhar constituency No. 4, in which Omurbek Bakirov, deputy of the Parliament, was elected. Press service of the Supreme Court informed Azattyk.

The hearing took place on August 18.

Omurbek Bakirov commented on the decision, calling it «illegal». «It is clear to everyone that this is an illegal decision. They say that this is a new circumstance. There is no such thing as a new circumstance in the Election Code,» he said.

On July 26, the Bishkek City Court upheld the decision of the Administrative Court of Bishkek to cancel the election results in Kok-Dzhar single-mandate constituency No. 4 of Nookat district, Osh region.

On June 7, the Administrative Court of the capital canceled the election results for Kok-Dzhar constituency No. 4.

The decisions of the Central Election Commission (CEC) on holding elections in this constituency and recognizing Omurbek Bakirov as a deputy of the Parliament were also cancelled.

On November 28, 2021, Omurbek Bakirov was elected a member of Parliament according to the mixed system. In total, seven candidates participated in the political race.

One of the contenders, ex-deputy Ravshanbek Rysbaev, applied to the court in December 2022 with a request to revoke his mandate under the pretext that Omurbek Bakirov bribed votes in the elections.

Omurbek Bakirov, in his commentary to Azattyk in December last year, connected this with the fact that he voted against the bill on Kempir-Abad issue.

On November 17, 2022, at a general meeting of Parliament, when considering a bill on the delimitation of the Kyrgyz-Uzbek border, Omurbek Bakirov entered into a verbal skirmish with the Chairman of the State Committee for National Security, Kamchybek Tashiev.

A few days later, Omurbek Bakirov was taken out of his office on the 7th floor of the parliament building. A parliamentary committee was formed to investigate the matter. He was among 19 deputies who voted against the aforementioned bill.