USD 68.59
EUR 73.99
RUB 1.20
Central Asia

Uzbekistan postpones abolition of visas for tourists from 27 countries until 2021

President of Uzbekistan Shavkat Mirziyoyev by a decree postponed the abolition of visas for tourists from 27 countries from April 1, 2017 until January 1, 2021. RIA Novosti reported.

As noted, at the beginning of December 2016 Shavkat Mirziyoyev signed a decree providing for the abolition of visas for tourists from 27 countries who enter the country for a period not exceeding 30 days. Then he instructed to prepare proposals for the introduction of single tourist visas and visa obtaining facilitation including transit, international airports and border checkpoints on the state border of Uzbekistan.

The decision to postpone the abolition of visas was taken for "sustainable and balanced development of tourist activity and the creation of a necessary material and technical base, ensuring safety of life and health of foreign tourists and the citizens of the republic, development of equitable external economic cooperation with foreign countries," the document says.

Introduction of "green corridor" customs control system for foreign tourists with simplified procedure of passport and customs control, baggage collection and transport services was also postponed until January 1, 2021.