USD 67.15
EUR 72.91
RUB 1.20

President of Belarus calls on CIS countries for accession to EEU

President of Belarus Alexander Lukashenko called on CIS countries for deeper integration, in particular for joining EEU. He stated this the day before at a meeting with the heads of governmental delegations of the CIS countries and the Eurasian Economic Union, RIA Novosti reported.

"Deeper integration, economic integration - within the Eurasian Economic Union. Who in CIS is ready? EEU Treaty is open, we have invited everyone who is ready for this. We do not force anyone, but if ready - you are welcome," he said.


Alexander Lukashenko added that even deeper integration is the Union State of Belarus and Russia. "The Union is an example and a model," the Belarusian leader said.

He recalled that during the creation of EEU this integration project has become an example "how to integrate, which way to go." "There was no need to invent much: even then with the Russians, we have invented a lot and when creating EEU relied on the many agreements between Russia and Belarus. If someone is ready for this, ready to move from an economic union to a political, military, close union within the framework of the Union of Belarus and Russia, the Treaty is open too," Alexander Lukashenko said. 

He noted that the post-Soviet space "has built and suffered vertical integration".

EEU is international economic integration association, created on the basis of the Customs Union and the Common Economic Space, operating since January 1, 2015. Union members are Russia, Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan and Kyrgyzstan.

The Commonwealth of Independent States - interstate association of the former Soviet republics. It was established on December 8, 1991. CIS includes Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Russia, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Ukraine and Uzbekistan.

Photo by © RIA Novosti. Dmitry Astakhov